Association class

The association of graduates of the Paris Crossing high school meets | North Vernon

The 49th Annual Paris Crossing Alumni Banquet was held June 24, 2022 at The Pines Evergreen Room in Seymour. Due to Covid, no meetings were held in 2020 or 2021. Registration and social hour opened at 5 p.m. with 80 alumni and guests in attendance. The welcome and invocation were given by Richard Young, followed by the buffet dinner at 6:00 p.m.

The program began with Denise Corbin and Pat Corya Dawson (1953) leading everyone to sing the Paris Crossing High School fight song.

Jane Kinder Reynolds introduced the scholarship recipients. Logan McIntosh, son of Vanessa and McKenna McIntosh, will attend Franklin College. Layne Suhre, son of Susan and Jeremy Suhre, will attend Butler University. Since 1993, 66 students have received these awards.

Jean Harrison Feltner read the Secretary’s report from the 2019 meeting. The Treasurer’s report was presented by Mary Lou Malcomb Nugent. The basic objective for scholarships had been achieved.

The 2023 slate committee has been elected. They are: President, Ray Hughes, (1958): 1st Vice President, Richard Young (1956): 2nd Vice President, Jerry Young (1975JC): Secretary, Jean Harrison Feltner (1961): Treasurer, Mary Lou Malcomb Nugent ( 1957): Publicity, Richard Young (1956): Nominations, Ray Hughes (1958): Memoriam, Fairy Rose Ray McGuire (1957) and Molly Flo Carson Corbin (1956): Banquet, Sharon Hughes Galliher (1957): Fellowship, Jerry Young (1975JC), Jane Kinder Reynolds (1956) and Sharon Hughes Galliher (1957): Program, Louise Malcomb, (1967NV).

Louise Malcomb gave an update on the site and information on Facebook.

The class anniversaries honored for 2020, 2021 and 2022 were: 75 classes of 1945, 1946 and 1947. 70 classes of 1950, 1951 and 1952. 65 classes of 1955, 1956 and 1957. 60 classes of 1960 and 1961.

All teachers and military veterans present were acknowledged. The oldest alumni were Jesse Austin, Class of 1953. The longest alumni were Joyce Davis Baker, Class of 1956.

Molly Flo Carson Corbin (1956) and Fairy Rose Ray McGuire (1957) presented the memorial service, assisted by Dan Corbin. 29 candles were lit for deceased graduates from June 2019 to June 2022. Their names and year of graduation are Dorothy Dodd Richardson (1943), Ray Morin (1944), Marilyn Moore Motsinger (1948), Jean Graham Thomas ( 1945), Richard Corya (1947), Glyndon Short (1947), Anita Shumate Vance (1947) Bill Perry (1948), Eugene Walden Butters (1948), Roger Morin (1948),

Paul Green (1948), Geraldine Lewis Wallace (1950), Bob Engle (1951), Wilma Royalty Morin (1952), Velma Reese Peacock (1953), Mary Skelton Herr (1953).

Also, Fred Johnson (1954), Carol James Bobb (1954), Doris Law Krebs (1955), Pat Hughes Simmons (1955), June Morin Corya (1955), Nedra Nolte Short (1956), Fletcher Green (1956), Paul McIntosh (1958), Ronald Harrison (1959), James Edwin Corya (1960), Betty Lou Mullikin Ritchie (1964NV), Dean Huffman (1964NV) and Jean Greene Selig.

Denise and Dan Corbin led the group singing Amazing Grace and God Bless America. The highest silent auction bidders have been announced. The meeting was closed with a prayer from Dan Corbin.

The date for the 2023 Annual Meeting will be June 23, 2023 at the Pines Evergreen Hall.