Association law

Nevada Mining Association presents 2022 Personal Safety Awards

NVMA Safety Award Luncheon Kinross Round Mountain in 2021

The Nevada Mining Association presented the 2022 Individual Safety Awards, which celebrate industry professionals whose extraordinary efforts ensure miners return home safely after every shift.

“Safety will always be the number one priority in Nevada’s mining industry – that’s why it’s built into every aspect of our culture and operations,” said NVMA President Tire. Gray, in a press release.

Danny Young

“Congratulations to the 37 winners for their outstanding commitment to ensuring the safety and health of their colleagues and teams.”

Individual NVMA safety awards are based on performance in the previous calendar year. A total of 105 nominations were submitted, with winners chosen by industry peers. The 37 individual miners will be recognized at an awards luncheon Sept. 10 at the NVMA convention in Lake Tahoe.

For more information about NVMA, visit

Dee Jay Leach

General director:
Neil Jensen, Kinross NV

Mining manager:
Joseph Kemp, Kinross NV
Dale ThompsonKinross
Bart Beatty, Nevada Gold Mines

Security professional:
Caleb Bolyard, Kinross Gold Corp.
Genevieve Merrill, KGHM
Shane Anderson, SSR Mining
Shawn Rose, First Majestic Silver Corp.

Dillon Pollock

General Supervisor:
Shawn Migas, Mining Heart
Timothy ChapmanKinross
Dee Jay Leach, Nevada Gold Mines

Safety Champions:
Adrienne Clinton, Golden Argonaut
Dillon Pollock, gold I80
Scott Torgerson, SSR Mining
Mariah Fehlman, Hecla Nevada
Kaitlin Rynearson, Kinross
Jessica Boggio, Gold Mines of Nevada, LLC.
Mike Lefrere, Coeur Mining, Inc.
Kylie Payne, Nevada Gold Mines

Jessica Boggio

Security Chief:
Robert Dechant, KGHM

Kelsey Plummer, SSR Mining
Luz Sandoval, Nevada Gold Mines
Aaron Evans, Mining Heart

Luz Sandoval

Supervisor (15 employees or more):
Dan Nations, SSR Mining
Jennifer Browning, Kinross Gold
Steve Sebion, SSR Mining

Joe St. Pierre, Argonaut Gold

Supervisor (14 employees or less):
Cammie Holland, I-80 Gold Corp
William Daniel Eklund, first majestic
Raymond Davis, Hecla Nevada
Mike Smith, Gold Argonaut

Sean Gallian

Christie StannardKinross
John Simmons, Nevada Gold Mines
Sean Gallian, Turquoise Crest

emergency response
Danny Young, Nevada Gold Mines
Robert Shoenecker, SSR Mining
Anthony Amity, First Majestic Silver Corp.